Bio

I was born in Seattle, Washington and grew up in Minneapolis, Minnesota. I have two siblings, one brother (with me in the above photo) and one sister. I attended a Spanish immersion elementary school where I became bilingual in Spanish and English. I’ve loved the outdoors all my life; my parents taught me to ski starting when I was two years old, and I also love canoeing, hiking, horseback riding, cycling, and trail running.

In high school I was a nordic skier, and in the summer I went on wilderness canoe trips in the Boundary Waters of Minnesota, Quetico Provincial Park, Ontario, the Albany River wilderness in northern Ontario, and Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. My experiences in the wilderness growing up shaped who I am and inspired my love for the Earth and geology.

I attended Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT for my undergraduate degree, where I joined the club Equestrian Team. With the team I had the opportunity to compete in IHSA Hunt Seat Equitation shows. I was captain of the team my senior year and enjoyed both competing and teaching beginner lessons.

I enjoy exploring the mountains and trails around me. I love snow and in the winter I hit the slopes as often as I can. In graduate school I was a volunteer ski patroller at Big Bear Mountain Resort in the San Bernardino Mountains. Since moving to Colorado I have resumed horseback riding, which is a long-time love of mine. In July 2020 I competed in my first horse show in 6.5 years, and was able to win a couple of ribbons!

I currently live in Boulder, CO with my boyfriend Peter and our two cats, Lumi and Nova.

4793_1546816604043
In the handles at Snow Summit, Big Bear Mountain Resort, 2019